The Works Volume 1

  • Click to enlarge
The Works Volume 1

Tap to enlarge


Product Information

Issued in 2016, this is Ivan's first song book. He has often been asked for the "dots" to his songs and tunes and this book starts that proces. As well as the music there are also the words and an accompanying CD of the songs. When buying the book you also get a digital download of the book in PDF format and the songs in MP3 format. Ivan also includes a short note on each song. The transcriptions were by Sandy Stanage here are his notes on his work:

It was a privilege to be asked by Ivan to transcribe this collection of his work: I've long been an admirer of his songs and singing style, and the beauty of his instrumental melodies, which appear fairly straightforward at first glance but reward deeper interpretation.

Early on in the process we discussed the pros and cons of transcribing the material in the way Ivan himself performs it, using his somewhat idiosyncratic guitar style and tunings, but in the end came down in favour of more or less standard tunings and chords, which we felt would appeal to the vast majority of people using this book.

To that end, I have included my own transcriptions of some of the guitar solos using nothing more than the occasional dropped 5th or 6th string; but we also agreed to include simple melody and chord versions of these, which will hopefully appeal to other instrumentalists such as fiddle players etc.

It's been an absolute pleasure to work with Ivan on this project, and my thanks go to him and to John Boocock for making it such an easy task.

Sandy Stanage Fife August 2016

  1. Mrs Wylie's Front Door
  2. The Flower of Kristiandsand
  3. The Fisherman
  4. Kristy Jane Drever
  5. Angelina
  6. Moira McCrossan
  7. Song For Yesterday
  8. 15 Jars O' Rhubarb Jam Rag
  9. The Braes Of Sutherland
  10. The Ballad Of Pirate Gow
  11. I Could Be Good For You
  12. Forget Me Not
  13. Rose Of St Magnus
  14. The Dark Haired Ruby
  15. Bless The Wind

All songs (C) MCPS 2016 Orcadian Recordings ORCCD011 facebook: @IvanDrever


Product CodeORCCD011
ManufacturerOrcadian Recordings

This field is required.

©2020 - All rights reserved.

Follow Us

Mailing List

Enter your e-mail address to receive our newsletter
Please enter a valid email address.
Email address already subscribed. Continue if you wish to unsubscribe.

©2020 - All rights reserved.

Change Skin:

eCommerce by CubeCart